Nile: At The Gates Of Sethu (2012 Album)

On June 3rd, self proclaimed ‘Ithyphallic’ metal legends Nile released their seventh studio album ‘At The Gates Of Sethu’. A band requiring little introduction, Nile have been pioneers of seriously evil technical death metal since their 1993 inception in Greenville, South Carolina. Several line-up changes have resulted in the current trio of Karl Sanders (guitar, vocals, bass), Dallas Toler-Wade (guitars, vocals) and George Kollias (drums, general percussion), three blackened souls infused with the spirit of the Egyptian demon of death dealing seriously face-melting riffage over relentlessly pounding blast beats.

The album is full of vicious animal-headed taskmasters beating their blackened whips down on the cracked, sunburnt backs of rag-clad teams of slaves, spurring them on as they drag impossibly heavy cut stone blocks up steep inclines, reeking of pestilence and plague, building a moment to the source of their pain; ‘At The Gate Of Sethu’ is a deeply evil opus. At first, I was unsure of exactly what to say about the album, in many ways its more of the same from Nile, not surpassing ‘Annihilation Of The Wicked’ but certainly worthy of a place alongside it, there’s so much going on within each track and there’s never a dull moment so picking out highlights seemed an impossible task.

But then, at an ungodly hour on Sunday morning, waiting for a bus in the rain after a weekend stint that had gotten seriously out of hand, ‘At The Gates Of Sethu’ popped up on shuffle, and just proper hit the spot like nothing else could. It’s not like I was reborn, ready to take on the daunting journey ahead, but more that the album resonated so perfectly with my internal state that my horrific feelings of emptiness and pain were filled with a vivid imagery that put me in a state of perfect brutal zen, and I understood what comment I was to make.

So, whether your a fan of Nile or not, blare this into your ears at a volume just encroaching on the painful next time your dehabilitatingly hungover and you’ll see what I mean!



Track List:

  1. Enduring The Eternal Molestation Of Flame
  2. The Fiends Who Come To Steal The Magick Of The Deceased
  3. The Inevitable Degradation Of Flesh
  4. When My Wrath Is Done
  5. Slaves Of Xul
  6. The Gods Who Light Up The Sky At The Gate Of Sethu
  7. Natural Liberation Of Fear Through The Ritual Deception Of Death
  8. Ethno-Musicologial Cannibalisms
  9. Tribunal Of The Dead
  10. Supreme Humanism Of Megalomania
  11. The Chaining Of The Iniquitous
Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Nile: At The Gates Of Sethu (2012 Album)

  1. blasting D says:

    yes it’s another great Nile album!

    maybe you’ll be interested with this interview with one of the guitarist Dallas Toler-Wade :

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: