Orange Goblin: A Eulogy for the Damned (2012 Album)

Stalwarts of the London hard rock and metal scene, Orange Goblin released their seventh studio album entitled ‘A Eulogy for the Damned’ earlier in February 2012.

A Eulogy of the Damned has a much greater range of styles than previous OG albums and its great to hear the band stretching their boundaries and trying new things. The theme running throughout the album is that even though the world is full of chaos the spirit of Orange Goblin, in the form of heavy groove and powerful riffage, will always hold strong; that even though ‘the sun will burn, the planets turn’, ‘the ship of dreams aint what it seems’, ‘I’m always going to be here’.

To go with this relentless sludgy hard-rock and groove riffage, the album is full of gratuitously pleasing metal lyrics; as a whole, they read almost like a list of inherently metal events and actions.

Vocalist Ben Ward performs excellently across a much wider stylistic scope than on previous records with much more melody, a few passages of Anselmo-like speech on title track ‘A Eulogy for the Damned’ and even some clean singing on ‘Save Me From Myself’.

Bassist Martyn Millard puts in a storming display, forming a solid backbone throughout the record and keeping Joe Hoare’s top-notch technical soloings firmly rooted to the ground. Drummer Chris Turner is solid as ever, and manages to work in a few stylistic curve-balls, notable examples include the funky high-hats and a good smattering of cowbell on ‘Return To Mars’ with neither seeming out of place.

‘The Filthy and the Few’ is kicked off with a great film sample intro, that’s great fun to shout at people in the pub, and for me this sentiment sums up the overall feel of the album. It’s not one that inspires deep thinking or contains a great deal of innovation, nor does it make any attempt to do so.

What it will do, and do very effectively, is get you up on the table, swinging from the rafters and spilling on the sawdust from your foaming tankard in the mead hall without a care, and there’s few things in life better than that.

Get on Spotify, have a listen and check back at the end of the week for a full artist profile coming in the next few days!


Track List:

  1. Red Tide Rising (official video)
  2. Stand For Something
  3. Acid Trial (official video)
  4. The Filthy And The Few
  5. Save Me From Myself
  6. The Fog
  7. Return To Mars
  8. Death Of Aquarius
  9. The Bishops Wolf
  10. A Eulogy For The Damned

Released on Candlelight Records

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: